Individual Chocolate Soufflés #ValentinesDay #writing

I did it. I made soufflé! And it wasn’t as big a deal as I thought it would be. Souffle 1  

Being a novice, I went to the master and followed Ms. Martha’s recipe. Here it is if you’d like to have a peek: http://www.marthastewart.com/356052/individual-chocolate-souffles

This recipe makes four mini soufflés, for those of you who are polyamorous. ;-)

This year, I’ve learned a lot about self-love. Not the narcissistic kind of attention-seeking obsession that’s epidemic these days. I mean the quiet and personal care of ones needs, health and dignity. Boundaries, dreams and desires. Value, worth and integrity. I could go on and on…

No doubt your list will look a little different than mine. What I’ve realized this year is how important it is to have a list at all, of what we want, what we need, what we can accept, what is non-negotiable.

This simple quote sparked a little epiphany for me a few months back:

Maybe you’ve already had this realization. I’ve always been a late bloomer. I suppose it reminds me, as often as I can, to be good to myself, and those I care about. Perhaps the miracle of love is that simple.

To finish off this #VDay post, here are a couple of links to One Billion Rising, the day of action to raise awareness about violence against women, created by the author of The Vagina Monologues, Eve Ensler. This reminds me of the value of rage, especially when transmuted into something beautiful, something that can change the world, a process I think writers understand very well. Check out the links, I promise, you will be inspired.

http://www.onebillionrising.org/

 

Much love,

A :-) xo

Souffle 2

Mini Chocolate Soufflés*

Makes 4 ramekin-sized soufflés

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar, plus more for ramekins
  • 3 large egg whites, room temperature, plus 3 large egg yolks
  • 1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 5 1/2 ounces bittersweet chocolate (70 percent cacao), melted
  • 2/3 cup whole milk
  • 1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons sour cream
  • Garnish: confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Souffle 3Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 420 degrees. Brush four ramekins generously with the butter andcoat with granulated sugar. Whisk whites with a mixer until frothy, about 2 minutes. Add cream of tartar; whisk until soft peaks form. Add 1/3 cup granulated sugar; whisk until medium peaks form, about 5 minutes.

  2. Set chocolate in a bowl. Whisk milk into cornstarch and salt in a saucepan. Bring to a simmer. Cook, stirring, until thick, 1 to 2 minutes. Whisk into chocolate (mixture will separate). Whisk in yolks and sour cream. Gently fold in egg whites. (Note: According to the cook’s tip on the Martha Stewart website, this batter can be made up to 3 hours in advance. I used mine right away.)

  3. Fill ramekins evenly with batter. Set ramekins on a baking sheet, place in the oven, and then reduce the heat to 400 degrees. Bake until souffles rise but centers are still liquid, about 16-17 minutes. Don’t worry, they will be have a liquidy centre, similar to a lava cake. Dust with confectioners’ sugar. For the icing sugar design, I made a stencil by cutting some hearts into a sheet of paper. Yup, just like you used to for your valentine back in school. Or maybe you still do? How sweet of you.

  4.  Eat right away or the soufflés will start to fall. This might mean dessert before dinner. I’m not saying that’s what happened over here. (It is.) Enjoy!

(*Original recipe: Individual Chocolate Souffles, Martha Stewart, http://www.marthastewart.com/356052/individual-chocolate-souffles.)

26 thoughts on “Individual Chocolate Soufflés #ValentinesDay #writing

Add yours

    1. Thank you so much, Lynn, I really appreciate it that! I was so nervous about the little guys falling, I was quite nervous as I peeked in on them, haha. But it all turned out in the end and I think I’m going to try a savory version next time, maybe cheese and herb. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed the other part of the post too. I think as women in particular, we’re so focused on others, we forget to be good to ourselves. Thanks so much for commenting and sharing your thoughts! :-) xo

  1. Anita, your writing always inspires me. I definitely will be checking out those links. Your quote, is spot on, and so true.
    I love your chocolate souffles, they are great, and will be trying them. I hope mine look half as good as yours. Have a wonderful day :-)

    1. Thank you so much, Lynne! I’m very glad that you enjoyed the post and the quote. It really helped me to grow this year into a more loving person, in perhaps the place I was most deficient, the self-love department. I have to say though, the most wonderful part about aging is having these realizations and then transforming into that next version of ourselves. So neat! I hope you enjoy the links too. I was blow away by all the One Billion Rising activities all over the globe. I hope the souffle works out for you. I’d love to hear how it goes! Thanks again for stopping by and sharing your thoughts! :-) Hope you have a wonderful day too!

    1. Thank you, Claire! It’s so true! I noticed them starting to shrink just after I finished taking the pics, so we had dessert before dinner, ha ha, poor us. ;-) I did as you suggested and preheated the oven a bit higher to start and then lowered the temp once they were in. I think I’ll try savory next time!

    1. Thanks so much, Elaine! You were right, making souffle wasn’t too bad at all. ;-) And it’s so true about self-love, it really is the greatest gift xo

      1. It is, and it’s crazy that it is often something we have to learn rather than having naturally :( I had to find it myself several years ago, and it’s been the biggest and best change of my life :) x

      2. That’s exactly how it was for me too! I’ve been so great at putting others first, just like that awful cliche, but it just wasn’t sustainable. Better to learn the lesson late than never, as they say. It’s been a real positive change for me too. To me it’s inseparable from self-compassion which has truly been the greatest revelation of my life so far. Thanks so much for sharing, Elaine! xo

      3. That really is such a gift, I’m so glad you have found that. Mine came through yoga, it taught me so much and lead me towards the peace and contentment that I have now. I love it. And now I can teach my son the same whilst being a good example xx

      4. Yoga has been such a healing force in my life too. And to be able to pass it on to the next generation is an amazing, what a life skill to be able to share. Really it was self-compassion meditation that caused the most transformation for me, and like you said, I’m so grateful to have found it, because it’s had such a profound impact on how I’ve been developing as a person. I look back sometimes and wonder where I would be or even who I would be without it. Hope you’re enjoying the weekend! xo :-)

      5. I completely understand that! When I was first introduced to the concept of ahimsa it had such an impact on me and has stayed with me.
        I am thank you, I hope your weekend is going well too xx

      6. Ahimsa, ahimsa. It’s my chant! What a cool chat we’ve had, Elaine! Birds of a feather, eh? xo Thank you and I’m really enjoying the calmness of the weekend so far.

    1. Thanks so much, Susan! They did feel like an accomplishment, ha ha. :-) I guess souffle is one of those dishes I’ve been shying away from for a long time as a baker. Now they aren’t so scary! I’m really pleased that you liked the other aspects of the post too. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. Absolutely yummy… hadn’t had a souffle before, so this was a first – thanks for sharing, can’t wait for the next installment!

    1. Thank you, Liz! I completely agree about how convenient they are. I was so intimidated at the beginning but souffles aren’t as scary as I thought they would be. I’m looking forward to trying cheese next. Thanks for visiting!! :-)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

Evie Gaughan

Author of The Heirloom & The Mysterious Bakery On Rue De Paris

Patrisya M.

First and foremost books

My world

Enter at your enjoyment

Ananya Learns to Julley

Hi! I am Ananya Saluja and these are some of my writings from my days of volunteering with 17000 ft Foundation in Ladakh.

amandeepmittal.wordpress.com/

Reviews | Interviews | Giveaways | Recommendations | "I'm Mad About Books"

Self-Care With Writers

this is our story

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

The Tales That Follow

One Book. One Review. And a few random bits.

Secret Life of a Canadian Book Nerd

Nerding out 'bout anything

Suzanne M Sabol

Not Everyone is Meant to Walk in Darkness

Little Sea Little Me

A travel, book and lifestyle blog

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

💘📚Kayla's Book Nook📚💘

YA & Middle Grade book reviews galore!

My Tiny Obsessions

dedicated to small everyday obsessions ... tv shows ... movies ... books ...

It’s Lu Again

with books, books, and more books. . .

